Wednesday, 16 July 2014

Final league meetng of the year - and final league placings - report

The riders briefing before racing commences

The final event of the 2013-14 Hackney Primary School's Cycling League was held last Friday 11th July at Hackney Downs and true to form it rained again- not too heavily thankfully but enough to ensure the riders were using bikes with freewheels rather than fixed.

Kingsmead girls enjoying the action

Millfields, Gayhurst, Kingsmead and Tyssen schools all sent along teams to take part in the Go-Ride Tour event - part of British Cycling's celebrations of the Tour de France visiting Britain this time around. and seeing as how many of the riders had been down the Olympic Park last Monday to see the Tour de France  whizz by the were all fired up to show their skills and pace. The points up for grabs would mean  a fight to the finish between Gayhurst and Kingsmead for the overall title.

Year 4/5 girls scratch race

First up were the year 4/5 girls in the 3 lap scratch won convincingly by Mercy Phipps from Gayhurst who was fighting back pain from a knock the previous day to her knee, whilst her bravery was rewarded she had to withdraw from any further racing - a lesson learnt there from the professionals in the Tour. 2nd pace went to Mia Perez - Gayhurst followed by Leila Abbot - Kingsmead in third.

Year 4 boys scratch race

The following scratch race was for year 4 boys and was closely fought out with Leon Musson-Brown from Kingsmead taking the honours from Milo Endres and Conrad Couzins of Millfields. After this came the year 6 girls scratch with Victoria Nkan from Millfields taking a resounding win over Rachel Chimezeri and Shahila Richards - Kingsmead.

Year 5 boys scratch race

Next up were the year 5 boys with a big field that was dominated by a clean sweep of the podium place s by Gayhurst trio Stanley Boyd, Tom Bardill and Tahir Suleyman. This was followed by the year 6 boys scratch race won by Harry gregory - Gayhurst followed by Julio Bernucci and Dylan McNally both Millfields.

Mia winning the girls 4/5 devil

The next set of races were the Devil or elimination race  - the girls 4/5 race was won By Mia Perez from Kezia Cotterell  a year 4 rider from Gayhurst followed by Leila Abbot.

year 4 boys line up for the devil

The year four boys devil was won by Conrad Couzins then Robbie de Monchaux-Irons - Gayhurst from   Milo Endres. The year six girls was another victory for Victoria Nkan followed by Rachel Chimezeri and Ashanti Chandler both from Tyssen.

Year 5 boys devil

The year 5 boys devil went the way of clean sweep again this time round Stanley followed by Tahir then Tom. Year six sorry Harry take his 2nd win of the day from Julio then Harvey Hart - Gayhurst.

Year 6 boys devil winner - Harry

The final set of races were Handicap sprints where the slower riders from the previous races set off in front of the faster riders. In theory they would all cross the line together or near about. The 4/5 girls race was again by Mia from Leila whilst Kiara Smillie-Dyer - Kingsmead - came third.

The girls line up for the handicap sprint
Leon won the year 4 boys from Conrad and Milo an in the year 5 boys Tahir won from Stanley followed by Inacio da Silva - Millfields. The year six girls was won by Shahila from Victoria then Ashanti, and the year 6 boys went to Dylan McNally followed by Harvey Hart then Courtney Derby - Tyssen.

Yera 6 girls podium

Year 6 boys podium

Year 5 boys podium

Year 5 girls podium

Year 4 boys podium

The races over with it was time to count up the points - 
The girls results from Friday 11/7/14

The boys results from Friday 11/7/14

The girls point scorers from across the season

The boys point scorers from across the season

The final league table for 2013/14
Year 4 winner - Kezia

5 times league winners - Gayhurst

No comments:

Post a Comment