Tuesday, 14 July 2015

Jubilant Jubilee take the title

Jubilee with the shield
The 9th of July 2015 will go down as the day that Gayhurst finally relinquished their grip on the Young Hackney Primary Schools Cycling League shield to an impressive Jubilee team who showed consistency throughout the season winning five of the nine events on their way to the title.

Riders briefing prior to racing
Forty riders from four schools battled it out in hot sun on Hackney Downs. They put on an impressive display for the regional Go-Ride coach from British Cycling - Alison Lilley who had come down to lend a hand.

Year 4 boys scratch race start
The first races were the scratch races with boys going before the girls in each of the year groups. Murray Gray set the tone for Jubilee taking the year 4 boys win from Robin Steer of Millfields with Rueben Mooney coming third for Jubilee.

Molly wins the year 4 girls scratch race
The year 4 girls scratch was won by some distance by Molly Gregory for Gayhurst followed by Maia Fayanka , Jubilee and Naima Ryan-White, Southwold.

Year 5 boys scratch race
The year 5 boys had the biggest field with Conrad Couzins taking the win for Millfields followed by his brother Rueben and Robbie de Monchaux-Irons coming third for Gayhurst.

Year 5 girls  with a very close finish 
The year 5 girls was avery close race with Anoushka Minale, Millfields edging out Ester Ramsay, jubliee  and Kezia Coterell, Gayhurst.

Year 6 boys line up
The year six boys was won by Tom Bardill, Gayhurst from Arran MacPherson also Gayhurst and Noah Trueman - Jubilee. Whilst a very small field of year six girls saw Eliza , gayhurst beat Yande, Jubilee in a match sprint.

Year 6 girls Yande and Eliza
The next set of race were the Win Out or Angel as they have been christened as they work the opposite way to the Devil elimination race - with the first over the line coming out each lap leaving the lower order to do the most laps.
Year 4 boys win out race
The winners of the Angel races were - Y4 boys - Robin Steer, Y4 girls - Molly Gregory, Y5 boys - Conrad Couzins, Y5 girls - Ester Ramsay, Y6 boys - Tom Bardill, Y6 girls - Eliza Eaton.

Year 5 boys practise their race face
Everyone was having fun including our photographer Andy Bardill who was capturing the "race face" of the riders prior to the start of the Devil races.

A selection of race faces -

The reason why parents shouldn't hold their own children for race starts....
The Devils were close affairs with Murray winning the Y4 boys , Molly the Y4 girls a clean sweep - Conrad aldo wn the Y5 boys another clean sweep of races, Anoushka took the Y5 girls whilst Tom and Eliza completed their clean sweep of races for Y6 boys and girls.

A Southwold rider receives his certificate from Alison Lilley 
All the riders received Go-Ride certificates whilst the final scores were being counted up.

year 4 boys podium - Robin 2nd, Murray 1st, Rueben 3rd

Year 4 boys results
year 4 girls podium  Anna  2nd, Molly 1st, Naima 3rd
Year 4 girls results

Year 5 boys podium - Rueben 2nd, Conrad 1st, Joey 3rd
Year 5 boys results

Year 5 girls podium - Ester 2nd, Anoushka 1st, Kezia 3rd
Year 5 girls results

Year 6 boys podium 

year 6 boys results
Year 6 girls podium
year 6 girls results

Alison congratulating the riders
The final league table for 2014-2015 season.

Jubilee Primary School - YHPSCL Winners 2015

Thanks to all the schools, riders , teachers, helpers, parents, coaches, Young Hackney, CCHackney, Hackney parks, LVV and British Cycling for making it happen - I'm looking forward to seeing you all again for the start of the 2015-16 season in October - have a great summer.

No comments:

Post a Comment